Every year our Digital Media students’ work is entered into the student division of the American Advertising Awards, and every year they make us proud!  This year, on February 17, seven Digital Media students won awards for their work at the AAF NETN (American Advertising Federation Northeast Tennessee) Awards banquet in Johnson City.

Clayton Walker and Zachary VanHoy won a Gold for Cinematography, a Gold for Animation/Visual Effects, and Best of Show, Student Division, for their “Mindbender” opening credits sequence. Walker and VanHoy also snagged a Gold in the Cinematography category for their “Kia Pet Friendly” Television spot.

Julie Woodburn received a Gold for Animation/Visual Effects, and a Judges Choice Award for her “Love Your Corners” animation. Brianna Edmonds won a Gold for Digitally Enhanced Photography, and a Judges Choice Award for her “King Kat” photo-illustration. Kaycee Warren won a Gold in Digitally Enhanced Photography, for her actor transformation concept art “Werewolf,” and a Silver in the same category for her “Rocker Mom” actor transformation. Alex Street received a Silver in the Package Design category for “Lunch,” Meyer McMains won a Silver in Black & White Photography for “You Though You Could Keep me Out,” and David Hamilton won a Silver for Digitally Enhanced Photography for his “Tortoise and the Harecut” photo-illustration.

The American Advertising Awards, formerly the ADDYs, is the advertising industry’s largest and most representative competition, attracting over 40,000 entries every year in local AAF Club (Ad Club) competitions. Conducted annually by the American Advertising Federation (AAF), the local Ad Club phase is the first of a three-tier, national competition. Entry in a local Ad Club competition is the first step toward winning a national ADDY.